Bury Cricket Club

New President & Club Captains for 2023
19 Feb 2023

New President & Club Captains for 2023

19 Feb 2023

The 2023 Annual General Meeting was held on Monday 30th January and the following positions were elected (*=confirmed after the AGM, see detail below):

1st team captain: Dom Morris 

2nd team captain: Syed Hashmi*

Chairman: Gary Garner

Treasurer/Secretary: Alan Breckin

President: Dave Leach

Selection Committee: Team captains & Gary Garner

General Committee:

Mark Smith

Matthew Metcalfe

Dave Bowen 

James Weston

Neil Smith*

Mike Brawn made the decision over the winter to step down from the role of President, which he has held since 2018. Mike has been a fantastic ambassador to the club both on and off the field throughout his career, in more recent times, he has been a key part of organising our annual Golf Day which continues to be a success. We would like to pass our sincere thanks to Mike for his service in the role and hope to see him at Radcliffe Road during the season.

Following Mike's decision to step down as Club President, Dave Leach was elected as the new President at the AGM. The role of President is one of the very few roles that Dave has not already held at the club, spending 8 seasons as 1st team captain, ranging over the period from 1971 to 1995, and 9 years as Club Chairman, as well as helping coach the juniors, maintaining the square and ground, acting as club umpire, organising the club tour and the list could go on! Dave has and continues to embody everything that Bury Cricket Club is about, and so we are honoured to have him serve as our Club President.

Dom Morris was nominated and has agreed to become 1st XI captain. Dom has been a life-long member of Bury CC and made his first team debut in 2011, at the age of 13. Dom will also continue his role on the general committee, as first team captain. Gary Garner has stepped down from the role he has occupied for the past three years.

For the role of 2nd XI captain, both Syed Hashmi and Gary Garner received nominations, however both agreed to decide between them who would take on the role rather than taking it to a vote on the night. We can now confirm that Syed, who took the team for a handful of games towards the end of the 2022 season, will be the 2nd XI captain in 2023.

The role of 3rd XI captain is not a role for which nominations are asked for at the AGM, and this will be discussed and decided by the general committee at their first meeting following the AGM, which will take place in the next couple of weeks.

On the evening of the AGM, the general committee consisted of the same individuals as 2022, however it was noted on the night that new members would be more than welcome and anybody interested in joining are encouraged to get in touch. Since the AGM, Neil Smith has volunteered to join the general committee - as our of our junior managers, Neil's involvement will be greatly beneficial in our efforts to bring together the junior and senior sections of the club.

Latest News

24th Mar 2024

3rd Mar 2024

View all news »

New President & Club Captains for 2023