Bury Cricket Club

2022 Captains & Player News confirmed after AGM
26 Jan 2022

2022 Captains & Player News confirmed after AGM

26 Jan 2022

On Monday 24th January, at the 2022 AGM, the following positions were elected:

1st team captain: Gary Garner

2nd team captain: Matthew Metcalfe

3rd team captain: Joe Mitchell (decided by the committee, updated 23/02/22)

Chairman: Gary Garner

Treasurer/Secretary: Alan Breckin

President: Mike Brawn

Selection Committee: Senior captains (& one other to be confirmed)

General Committee:

Mark Smith

Matthew Metcalfe

Dave Bowen

James Weston

Dominic Morris

Gary Garner and Matthew Metcalfe were unanimously voted in as the 1st and 2nd team captains, continuing their roles from last year. Our thanks go to Nathan Ramsay who contributed greatly in a number of games as 2nd team captain in 2021 in a title-winning season.

The third team captain, for a number of years, has not been decided via a vote at the AGM, and was again decided by the committee. We can now confirm that Joe Mitchell will be the third eleven captain for the 2022 season. Joe knows the club and its players very well and has an excellent relationship with his team mates. We thank James Weston for his hard work over the last two seasons, who stepped down from the role following the 2021 season.

Mike Brawn, Jules Spencer and Paul Belston all took the decision not to sit on the general committee this season. We would like to echo the messages of thanks that came at the AGM by thanking each of them, and their families, greatly for the sizeable contribution they have all made over a number of years. Mike will continue in his role as President.

On the Player front, we can also confirm our club professional and overseas amateur for the 2022 season. As advertised in the Autumn, Aneeq Hassan will be our professional. Aneeq joins Bury from Ribblesdale League side Baxenden, where he scored 831 runs (including 9 50s) and took 38 wickets with his leg break bowling in the 2021 season. 
We will also be welcoming Australian Will Russell to Radcliffe Road in April. Will has played a high standard in Australia, including a period of playing first grade cricket for St Kilda in the Victorian Premier League.

We are also delighted to announce that Saliq Rasheed and Aqib Zulfiqar will also join our senior set up, from Monton and Crompton respectively, and that former Bury junior Fraser Parr has returned to the club over the winter.

Senior winter nets get underway at the Derby High School from Monday 21st February (9-10pm).

Latest News

12th Nov 2023

View all news »

2022 Captains & Player News confirmed after AGM