Bury Cricket Club

2021 Captains announced after AGM
23 Feb 2021

2021 Captains announced after AGM

23 Feb 2021

On Monday 22nd February at our Annual General Meeting, held virtually, the following positions were elected:

1st team captain: Gary Garner

2nd team captain: Chris Potts

3rd team captain: James Weston (elected during committee meeting on 4/3/21)

Chairman: No nominations

Treasurer/Secretary: Alan Breckin

President: Mike Brawn

Selection Committee: Senior captains & Matthew Metcalfe

General Committee:

Mark Smith

Matthew Metcalfe

Jules Spencer

Dave Bowen

James Weston

Paul Belston

Dominic Morris


Mark Smith has stepped down as chairman of the club, a position he has held for a decade. Everyone at the club would like to say a big thank you to Mark for making our cricket club the club that it is today. Wayne Belston also stepped down from the general committee and another big thank you goes to him for his magnificent service to the club over many years. Finally, Jordan Smith has relinquished his duties as second team captain due to injury, and has also stepped down from the general committee.

Our members will be aware of the government announcement on the same day, that included that outdoor sports facilities will be able to open and team sports will be able to resume from March 29th. We will await further instruction from the ECB and then the GMCL and hope to bring our members more information throughout the next month, as we look ahead to a (hopefully) full 2021 cricketing season.

Latest News

24th Mar 2024

3rd Mar 2024

View all news »

2021 Captains announced after AGM